The 2nd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival Announced For June 10 and 11, 2013


One Minute Play FestivalAn evening of micro plays by forty of the Atlanta’s best playwrights!

Featuring plays by Steve Yockey, Topher Nixon Payne, Margaret Baldwin, Phillip DePoy and nearly 40 other Georgia-based Playwrights

Actor’s Express and the New York-based company, The One-Minute Play Festival (OMPF) announce their joint presentation of The 2nd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival, to be performed on June 10 and 11, 2013 at 8 p.m. Following sold-out performances last season, this year’s festival will be a larger, more inclusive, and more ambitious collaboration between Actor’s Express and OMPF.

“I’m so glad to be back in Atlanta. Coming to town last year was the highlight of my OMPF experience. I have deep admiration for this community of artists,” says Dominic D’Andrea, OMPF’s Founder and Artistic Director. “Partnering with AE for the second time feels great. I think we are tapping into something with this group of artists that is pretty special. I can’t wait to share it.”

Tickets to The 2nd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival are $20 and are available online at or by calling 404-607-7496 (SHOW).

The 2nd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival will feature over 70 brand new One-Minute Plays by 40 playwrights from Atlanta’s–and Georgia’s—growing pool of exceptional contemporary writers, among them, some of the most important artistic voices in the nation.

“This killer project is literally a thrill-ride of theatre. Seeing 70 one-minute plays by playwrights from our region all on one night is mind-boggling – even as one experiences it, it’s hard to imagine its coming together. But Dominic hits a home run every time,” says Artistic Director Freddie Ashley. “We are honored to host the OMPF again at Actor’s Express and hope you’ll join us for this one-of-a-kind theatrical event. You won’t regret it!”

Artists will be working on this emerging short form to explore the relationship of the individual voice to the zeitgeist of a specific region. The writers have several weeks to complete scripts, with the only stipulation being that they can be performed in one minute.

Playwrights are selected by invitation and asked to engage in OMPF’s playmaking approach. Playwrights are encouraged to write about anything they are passionate about, and, as emerging themes or ideas become apparent, the plays are grouped into “clumps” to reflect those elements. Teams of directors and actors work to stage each clump of plays. And the result: 70 fully mounted plays, all staged with 4 chairs.

This Festival will feature work commissioned by: Topher Nixon Payne, Margaret Baldwin, Addae Moon, Gabrielle Fulton, Pamela Turner, Theroun Patterson, Karla Jennings, Neeley Gossett, Patricia Henritze, Steve Yockey, Lee Nowell, Phillip DePoy, Peter Hardy, Daryl Fazio, Hank Kimmel, Robin Seidman, Greg Carraway, Nick Boretz, Amina McIntyre, Doug Graham, Lisa Brathwaite, Paris Crayton III, Michael Haverty, Jon Ludwig, Vynnie Meli, Grant McGowan, Suehyla el-Attar, Marki Shalloe, Nathaniel Lachenmayer, Ralph Del Rosario, Megan Hayes, Mike Schatz, Travis Sharp, Matt Myers, Katie Grant Shalin, Jordan Pulliam, Sherri Denise Sutton, Michael Henry Harris, Gabriel Jason Dean, and more!
Directed by: Justin Anderson, Jaclyn Hofmann, Grant McGowen, Ellen McQueen, Sherri Denise Sutton, Veronika Duerr, Christina Hoff, and Nichole Palmietto.
Curated by OMPF Producing Director, Dominic D’Andrea

The One-­Minute Play Festival (OMPF) is an NYC-based theatre company, founded by producing artistic director Dominic D’Andrea. OMPF works in partnership with theatres and organizations in cities across the country that share missions devoted to new plays and/or a community-specific focus. In each city, OMPF creates a locally sourced playwright-focused community event, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career.

The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective consciousness and the individual voice; and by giving a voice, through theater, to the current collective conscious found in a specific region.

OMPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

OMPF has partnered with theaters in Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, New Brunswick, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, D.C., Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, and New York. Current and past partnerships include: Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, INTAR Theatre, Playwrights’ Foundation, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Boston Playwrights’ Theatre, Passage Theatre, and others.

Some notable contributors to OMPF have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Michael John Garces, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Jose Rivera, Lisa Loomer, Craig Lucas, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garces, along with over 500 famous and emerging writers.

For more information visit: