One Minute Play Festival Returns to Actor’s Express


Actor’s Express and the New York based company The One-Minute Play Festival continue their dynamic partnership and present The 3rd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival, to be performed on Sunday June 8 and Monday June 9 at 8pm. Following sold-out performances for the last two seasons, this year’s festival will be the largest, most inclusive, and most ambitious collaboration between Actor’s Express and The One-Minute Play Festival yet. Tickets are on sale now at and start at $20. Actor’s Express is located at 887 W. Marietta Street, Suite J-107, Atlanta, Georgia 30318.

“I can’t believe we’ve cracked 50 participating playwrights in Atlanta! That’s over 20 more than we had just two years ago”, reflects Dominic D’Andrea, #1MPF’s Founder and Artistic Director. “Atlanta is beginning to feel like home. The artistic community is exploding, and there are a ton of new faces and ambitious artists’ collectives bubbling up! I’m proud to be working with Freddie and Actor’s Express to be bringing this vast community together.”

Tickets to The 3rd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival start at $20 and will be available through AE’s website at starting Thursday, May 22.

The 3rd Annual Atlanta One-Minute Play Festival will feature close to 90 brand new One-Minute Plays by over 50 playwrights of Atlanta’s and Georgia’s growing pool of exceptional contemporary writers—among them, some of the most important artistic voices in the nation.

Artists will be working on this emerging short form to explore the relationship of the individual voice to the zeitgeist of a specific region. The writers have several weeks to complete scripts, with the only stipulation being that they can be performed in one minute.

Playwrights are selected by invitation and asked to engage in #1MPF’s playmaking approach. Playwrights are encouraged to write about anything they are passionate about, and, as emerging themes or ideas become apparent, the plays are grouped into “clumps” to reflect those elements. Teams of directors and actors work to stage each clump of plays. And the result: 90 fully mounted plays, all staged with 4 chairs.

This Festival will feature work commissioned by: Johnny Drago, Topher Nixon Payne, Margaret Baldwin, Suehyla el-Attar, Addae Moon, Pamela Turner, Theroun Patterson, Karla Jennings, Neeley Gossett, Marki Shalloe, Steve Yockey, Lee Nowell, Phillip DePoy, Peter Hardy, Daryl Fazio, Hank Kimmel, Nathaniel Lachenmayer, Ralph Del Rosario, Vynnie Meli, Jon Ludwig, Amina S. McIntyre, Doug Graham, Nick Boretz, Paris Crayton III, Grant McGowen, Morgan McGowen, Megan Hayes, Mike Schatz, Travis Sharp, Matt Myers, Jordan Pulliam, Sherri Sutton, Michael Henry Harris, Robin Seidman, Greg Carraway, Gabriel Jason Dean, Jill Patrick, Pat Young, Annie Harrison, Matt Horgan, Jonida Beqo, Mia Kristin Smith, Terry Segal, Nicole Kemper, Patrick Morgan, Kathryn Walat, Jacob York, Steve Brown, Tuwanda Muhammad, Hilary King, Penny Mickelbury, & more

Directed by Christina Hoff, George M. Contini, Grant McGowen, Heidi Cline McKerley, Jamie Bullins, Jessica Hunt, Justin Anderson, Marium Khalid, Pam Joyce, & Topher Nixon Payne.

Curated by #1MPF Producing Director, Dominic D’Andrea

The One-­Minute Play Festival (#1MPF)

America’s largest and longest running short form theatre company in the country, founded by Producing Artistic Director, Dominic D’Andrea. #1MPF is barometer project, which investigates the zeitgeist of different communities through dialogue and consensus building sessions and a performance of many moments. #1MPF works in partnership with theatres sharing playwright or community-specific missions across the country. #1MPF creates locally sourced playwright-focused community events, with the goal of promoting the spirit of radical inclusion by representing local cultures of playwrights of different age, gender, race, cultures, and points of career. The work attempts to reflect the theatrical landscape of local artistic communities by creating a dialogue between the collective conscious and the individual voice.

In each city, #1MPF works with partnering organizations to identify programs or initiatives in each community to support with the proceeds from the work. The goal is to find ways give directly back to the artists in each community. Supported programs have ranged from educational programming, youth poetry projects, teaching artists working in prisons, playwright residencies and memberships, and community arts workshops.

Annual partnerships have been created with theaters in close to 20 cities including: New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Chicago, Trenton, Atlanta, Philadelphia, Washington, DC, Baltimore, Boston, Miami, Minneapolis, New York, Seattle, Dallas, Austin, Indianapolis, Anchorage, and more, with partnering institutions such as Primary Stages, Victory Gardens Theatre, Cornerstone Theatre Company, The Playwrights Foundation, Boston Playwrights Theatre, Actor’s Express, InterAct Theatre, Mixed Blood, Passage Theatre, Phoenix Theatre, Kitchen Dog, Salvage Vanguard, ScriptWorks, ACT, Perseverance Theatre, and others.

Notable #1MPF contributors have included: David Henry Hwang, Neil LaBute, Tina Howe, Donald Margulies, Nilaja Sun, Lydia Diamond, Phillip Kan Gotanda, Kristoffer Diaz, Rajiv Joseph, Sam Hunter, Karen Hartman, José Rivera, Craig Lucas, Mike Daisey, Greg Kotis, Michael John Garcés, & close to 600 famous, emerging, and midcareer playwrights.  For more information visit: